Euro 2024 qualifiers: England tied with Italy. Discover collections in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland

Wales coach Rob Page, Scotland coach Steve Clark, England coach Gareth Southgate, Northern Ireland coach Ian Baraclaw

England were drawn in the same group as Italy – the team that beat them in the Euro 2020 final – in the qualifiers for Euro 2024 in Germany.

Ukraine, North Macedonia and Malta are the other teams in Group C.

Scotland He will be in Group A along with Spain, Norway, Georgia and Cyprus.

Wales will face Croatia, Armenia, Turkey and Latvia in Group D northern Ireland Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Kazakhstan and San Marino joined in Group H.

The Republic of Ireland faces a difficult task because it is in Group B along with the Netherlands and France, in addition to Greece and Gibraltar.

In the Frankfurt draw, there were gasps as England pulled out of the Italy clash, as the Azzurri beat Gareth Southgate’s side on penalties at Wembley to win the Euro 2020 final.

Italy will also face North Macedonia, who beat coach Roberto Mancini’s team in the 2022 World Cup playoff match in March.

England reached the Euro 2020 final but lost in the final to Italy
England were denied their first European Championship when Italy won them in the 2022 European Nations Cup final

said Southgate, who was his team Lost to Italy in the Nations League in September.

“It looked like we’ve been playing against Croatia every five minutes not so long ago and now it looks like we’ve faced this situation with Italy.”

“I knew we were going to play England or France, but that’s fine,” said Mancini. “It’s a good five-team group, not easy matches, all matches we can play.”

England also played Ukraine at Euro 2020 when Southgate’s side won 4-0 in the quarter-finals in Rome.

“We know the quality of a lot of [Ukraine’s] players,” the England coach added.

“We achieved a good result against them in Euro 2020, but the result did not reflect the quality of their team. It will be difficult matches.”

Russia did not participate in the lottery Because it is forbidden of Euro 2024 qualifiers by UEFA after their invasion of Ukraine.

“We don’t know what this is [games against Ukraine] It would look both politically and locationally,” Southgate added.

“Each of us, of course, has a lot more to think of when we talk about Ukraine than football, but the team itself in terms of football is a very good team.”

Scotland have qualified for three European Championships – in 1992 and 1996, and Euro 2020, which were delayed by a year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

They are at least guaranteed a place in the play-off after they finished top of their group in the Nations League and won promotion to the first division in that competition, but coach Steve Clarke wants to avoid having to go that route.

“We want to qualify properly,” he said. “We don’t want to rely on play-offs.”

“We qualified for the last European Championship through the play-off games but we missed the World Cup during the play-off games, so we know they are very risky.

“We would much prefer to be in a position where we qualify as right out of the group, so that’s what we focus on.”

And the Scottish group match against Norway will see the brilliant team, Manchester City striker Erling Haaland.

Wales made their European finals for the first time in 2016 when they reached the semi-finals.

“We are very pleased with the group,” said President Rob Page.

“We have avoided some teams like Belgium, which we have played a lot in recent years.

“If you try to anticipate which teams you prefer compared to the others, we’re not far from that. Overall, very happy.”

Northern Ireland was the only country not to qualify for Euro 2020, with its only appearance at the World Cup finals in 2016.

How it works?

There are seven groups of five countries – and three groups of six teams. The four nations that reached the Nations League finals – Croatia, Netherlands, Italy and Spain – joined the smaller groups.

The two best teams in each of the 10 groups qualify directly for Euro 2024.

Germany automatically qualifies as hosts, while the remaining three teams will come through the Nations League qualifiers.

The groups start on March 23 and end on November 21, 2023.

Complete groups

Group A: Spain, scotland, Norway, Georgia, Cyprus

Group B: Holland, France, Republic of Ireland, Greece, Gibraltar

Group C: Italia, england, Ukraine, North Macedonia, Malta

Group D: Croatia, Wales, Armenia, Turkey, Latvia

Group E: Poland, Czech Republic, Albania, Faroe Islands, Moldova

Sixth group: Belgium, Austria, Sweden, Azerbaijan, Estonia

Group G: Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Lithuania

Group H: Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Kazakhstan, northern Ireland, San Marino

The first group: Switzerland. Israel, Romania, Kosovo, Belarus, Andorra

Group J: Portugal, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Liechtenstein

Leave a Comment