US Open winner unveils wild yip move — and the internet had ideas

Lucas Glover on Thursday on the American Categorical Championships.

twitter.com

He made the slam dunk. And there are not any images, as they are saying, within the scorecard, however a five-second video clip struck a chord.

Identical to right here:

And right here:

And on and on. May you Google “Lucas Glover putt” or Search on Twitter Identical matter for extra. Regardless of the wealth of data, you might be asking your self this:

What is that this?

Technically, that is simple! It was a 3-foot putt by 2009 US Open winner Lucas Glover throughout Thursday’s first spherical of the match. American Categorical Competitors. However as you’ll be able to see – maybe – there may be extra. Or is it much less? On the putt, Glover retrieved his blade once more with a fast wrist flip, then moved it ahead with one other flip, and his ball rolled in.

Though now you could have extra questions…

Has Lucas Glover been put this fashion earlier than?

sure, Most notably in final 12 months’s Honda Traditionalbecause it was recorded and shared on-line very like this week’s scenario, and you’ll check out that beneath.

Is it authorized?

On Hit Honda, we dug into this. Briefly, sure, and This is what we wrote:

Below Rule 10.1you will see “Stroke” outlined as follows:

The stroke is made by hanging considerably with the ball with the top of the membership. The first problem is to direct and management the motion of your complete membership by swinging the membership freely with out clamping it.

Within the related language beneath 10.1a/1the principles specify three strategies that don’t represent a “hit”:



This eyebrow-raising stroke was nearly unlawful — which is why it wasn’t

by:

Luke Kerr Dineen



– A participant punches a brief putt by hitting the ball with the underside of the membership head, utilizing a movement much like that used to strike a ball in billiards or shuffleboard. Transfer the ball like this push.

– the participant strikes the membership alongside the floor of the earth and pulls it in the direction of it. Shifting the ball on this means is a scratch.

– The participant slides a racket beneath the ball and really near the ball. Then the participant lifts and strikes the ball utilizing a ahead and up movement. Shifting the ball like this can be a scoop.

Which brings us again to Glover. After dropping Honda, a small group of commentators on social media speculated that the hit was extra of a push, which ought to have constituted a one-shot penalty. And though it might appear to be this to the bare eye, while you decelerate the video, you’ll be able to see the smallest background oscillations. It’s also possible to see Glover’s arms transferring (barely), implying that this was a official stroke by the principles of golf, half and sq..

why?

It is a step yip. Golf Digest Luke Kerr-Dineen expertly notes which Glover has put “historically” on not less than two different events on American Categorical Thursdays, and the query requested was an anomaly. Though it was not less than beneath Some management. In any case, there was this one from Glover:

After all, it wasn’t all the time like that. Glover was a world class participant. Apart from profitable the Open Championship, he additionally gained the 2005 Funai Traditional and the 2011 Wells Fargo Championship. However then golf obtained into his head, as a result of that is what golf does.

However Glover labored at it, like Properly described by Michael Bamberger right here. And Glover gained once more, in 2021 on the John Deere Traditional.

Nevertheless, there’s a quote in Bamberger’s article, that maybe sums up our query higher. It comes from Glover’s agent, Mac Barnhardt.

“You’ll be able to’t heal from springs—everybody has them. However you’ll be able to cut back them.”

And on Thursday, Glover hit the ball.

Golf Journal

Subscribe to the journal

Subscription

Nick Piastowski

Nick Piastowski

Golf.com editor

Nick Piastowski is a senior editor at Golf.com and Golf Journal. In his position, he’s liable for enhancing, writing and growing tales throughout the golf area. And when he is not writing about methods to hit a golf ball farther and straighter, the Milwaukee native in all probability performs the sport, hitting the ball left, proper, and quick, and ingesting chilly beer to scrub his rating. You’ll be able to attain out to him about any of those subjects—his tales, his recreation, or his beer—at nick.piastowski@golf.com.

Leave a Comment