If you have an iPhone 8 or later, you have probably already updated to iOS 16. The latest operating system has many new security features that you should use.
A very safe mode is designed for politicians, activists and journalists. I think there is a great case to suggest this iPhone option for the elderly and frail in your life. Click or tap here to take a closer look at the insurance status.
Here’s another buried setting that just got upgraded: your iPhone’s ability to detect sounds and alert you. Tap or click for steps to set up custom sounds, like your home devices.
One of the most noteworthy features of iOS 16 is the ability to edit and unsend text messages. It’s not as clear as it seems. Here’s the truth.
Myth: When you unsend a text, the recipient will never know.
Reality: The recipient receives a notification.
Yes, you can take back a message you sent, but there’s more to it. Unsend works only with iMessage (iPhone to iPhone) and you And the The recipient must be running iOS 16.
If you opt out of sending a message to someone with an older version of iOS, they will still see it, and you’ll get a notification reminding you.
Here are some things to keep in mind when unsending a message:
- You can only restore a message within two minutes of sending it.
- The recipient can read your message before you unsend it.
- If you cancel sending a message, it will disappear from the recipient’s screen, but they will be notified that you canceled sending it.
Now that you know how it works, here’s how to unsend a message:
- During an iMessage conversation, Press and hold on the message You want to cancel sending.
- Faucet Undo Send.
Myth: When you edit a text, the recipient will never know.
Fact: You guessed it – they’ll get a notification.
Editing text follows the same rules. You can, but it only works with iMessage, and both iPhones should be running iOS 16.
If you edit a message you sent to someone with an older version of iOS, all your edited messages will appear on their screen, And the They will receive notifications of your modifications.
Here are some things you need to know when editing a message:
- You have 15 minutes to edit the text.
- You can edit a message up to five times.
- The recipient can read your message before editing it.
- The recipient can click on your edited message and see its editing history.
Here’s how it’s done:
- During an iMessage conversation, Press and hold on the message want to edit.
- Faucet release And make your changes.
- Click on blue check mark when you finish.
Myth: When you delete a text, it disappears.
Fact: Those deleted messages are still there for a bit.
When you delete a text string, it is stored in a folder on the Recently Deleted Messages file on your iPhone for 30 days. You can restore or permanently delete it right now and there. It also means that anyone can see your deleted messages if they have your passcode.
Here’s the good news: Text messages you unsend work Not They appear in the Recently Deleted Messages file.
Here’s how to delete or recover recently deleted messages:
- open the Messages app and press release in the top left.
- Faucet Show Recently Deleted Displays the messages selected for deletion.
- You can delete a message instantly by selecting it and pressing delete > delete message.
- Retrieve a message by selecting it and pressing Recovery > Message recovery.
- You can click delete all or restore all At the bottom of the screen to apply these actions to all deleted messages.